A Day in the Life of an ALX software engineering student

Eric Okemwa
2 min readApr 18, 2023

--

AI-generated photo by Midjourney

Greetings, tech-savvy amigos and amigas! Today, we have the inside scoop on the life of a master of the digital domain — and ALX software engineering student. Brace yourself for a day full of coding, coffee, and maybe even a few bugs (the digital kind, of course). So please sit back, relax, and get ready to join us on a journey into the world of bits and bytes, where the possibilities are endless, and the fun never stops!

6:30 AM: As an ALX software engineering student, I wake up early and start my day with coffee and a quick workout to energize.

7:30 AM: After freshening up, I check my schedule, review my notes from the previous day’s lectures, and prepare for the day ahead.

8:30 AM: I review the day's project, where I learn new concepts and revise the previous day’s assignments and projects with the help of Google.

Photo by Workspace setup addicts

10:00 AM: After the review, I connect with my peers on Slack/google meet to work on coding assignments and projects. I collaborate with my peers, ask questions, and solve problems together.

12:30 PM: I take a break for lunch, where I either grab a quick meal or chat with peers to discuss ongoing projects and assignments.

1:30 PM: I return to my workstation to continue working on my coding assignments and projects.

4:30 PM: I attend a live learning session, where I learn about new topics, techniques, and tools related to software engineering.

6:00 PM: I take a break to grab dinner and relax.

7:00 PM: I continue working on coding assignments and projects, reviewing code, testing applications, and preparing for upcoming exams.

9:00 PM: I review my notes and studies for the next day’s lectures and assignments.

11:00 PM: I wrap up my work for the day, save my code, and prepare for bed, ready to do it again tomorrow.

--

--